10th International Workshop on Computer Algebra in Scientific Computing

First Announcement and Call for Papers

The 10th International Workshop in Computer Algebra in Scientific Computing, CASC 2007, will be held in the city of Bonn, Germany, in September 16-20, 2007.

The methods of Scientific Computing play an important role in research and engineering applications in the natural and the engineering sciences. The significance and impact of computer algebra methods and computer algebra systems for scientific computing have increased considerably in recent times. Nowadays, such general-purpose computer algebra systems as Mathematica, Maple, MuPAD, and others enable their users to solve the following three important tasks within a uniform framework:

The ongoing development of such systems, including their adaptation to parallel environments, puts them to the forefront in scientific computing and enables the practical solution of many complex applied problems in the domains of natural sciences and engineering.

The topics addressed in the workshop cover all the basic areas of scientific computing provided by application of computer algebra methods and software:

The workshop is intended to provide a forum for researchers and engineers in the fields of mathematics, computer science, numerical analysis, industry, etc. An important goal of the workshop is to bring together all these specialists for the purpose of fostering progress on current questions and problems in advanced scientific computing.


Program Committee Organizing Committee
Workshop General Chairs
Vladimir P. Gerdt (Dubna)
Ernst W. Mayr (Munich)

Program Committee
Alkis Akritas (Volos)
Gerd Baumann (Cairo)
Hans-Joachim Bungartz (Munich)
Andreas Dolzmann (Passau)
Victor Edneral (Moscow)
M’hammed El Kahoui (Marrakech)
Ioannis Z. Emiris (Athens)
Victor Ganzha (Munich, co-chair)
Evgenii Grebenikov (Moscow)
Jaime Gutierrez (Santander)
Robert Kragler (Weingarten)
Richard Liska (Prague)
Bernard Mourrain (Spophia Antipolis)
Eugenio Roanes-Lozano (Madrid)
Yosuke Sato (Tokyo)
Werner Seiler (Kassel)
Doru Stefanescu (Bucharest)
Stanly Steinberg (Albuquerque)
Serguei P. Trasev (Krasnoyarsk)
Evgenii Vorozhtsov (Novosibirsk, co-chair)
Andreas Weber (Bonn)
Song Yan (Coventry)

Workshop General Organizing Committee
Werner Meixner (Munich, chair)
Annelies Schmidt (Munich, secretary)

Local Organization (University of Bonn)
Andreas Weber (Computer Science Department)
Joachim von zur Gathen (B-IT)